South America Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

Itinerary for a 2.5 week trip to Peru and Bolivia

Jump to last reply

I would really appreciate it if I could get some feedback on my Peru/Bolivia itineraries. The only thing that is set in stone is my flight into Lima and out of Santa Cruz and the dates.

Here are two options I am now considering:

OPTION 1:
1 Tues 24-Dec Home -> Lima (arrive 1 am on Dec 25)
2 Wed 25-Dec Lima -> Puerto Maldonado
3 Thurs 26-Dec Amazon Jungle (1-day trip)
4 Fri 27-Dec Puerto Maldonado -> Cuzco (Early AM)
5 Sat 28-Dec Cuzco
6 Sun 29-Dec Cuzco (Sacred Valley)
7 Mon 30-Dec Inca Trail Day 1
8 Tues 31-Dec Inca Trail Day 2
9 Wed 1-Jan Inca Trail Day 3
10 Thurs 2-Jan Inca Trail Day 4
11 Fri 3-Jan Cuzco -> _____*see note below
12 Sat 4-Jan *
13 Sun 5-Jan _______*-> La Paz
14 Mon 6-Jan La Paz, Bolivia (Day trip to bike Death Highway in Coroico)
15 Tues 7-Jan La Paz > Uyuni
16 Wed 8-Jan Uyuni
17 Thurs 9-Jan Uyuni
18 Fri 10-Jan Uyuni -> La Paz -> Santa Cruz (Flight passing through La Paz)
19 Sat 11-Jan Leave Santa Cruz 9:15 am

*I would like to get from Cuzco to La Paz, visiting Isla de Sol and maybe Puno and/or Copacabana in passing. I have seen 2 day catamaran trips that do this.. Please provide recommendations if possible for different options:-)

OPTION 2 (Skip Amazon jungle):
1 Tues 24-Dec Home -> Lima (arrive 1 am)
2 Wed 25-Dec Lima -> Cuzco
3 Thurs 26-Dec Cuzco
4 Fri 27-Dec Cuzco (sacred valley)
5 Sat 28-Dec Inca Trail Day 1
6 Sun 29-Dec Inca Trail Day 2
7 Mon 30-Dec Inca Trail Day 3
8 Tues 31-Dec Inca Trail Day 4
9 Wed 1-Jan Cuzco -> Puno
10 Thurs 2-Jan Puno -> Copacabana
11 Fri 3-Jan Day Trip to Isla de Sol from Copacabana
12 Sat 4-Jan Copacabana -> La Paz
13 Sun 5-Jan La Paz, Bolivia (Day trip to bike Death Highway in Coroico)
14 Mon 6-Jan La Paz -> Uyuni
15 Tues 7-Jan Uyuni
16 Wed 8-Jan Uyuni
17 Thurs 9-Jan Uyuni -> La Paz -> Santa Cruz (Flight passing through La Paz)
18 Fri 10-Jan Santa Cruz (or find can put this day elsewhere, e.g. Cuzco, Uyuni, etc)
19 Sat 11-Jan Leave Santa Cruz 9:15 am

3 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

  • Announcement: Writers Needed for Morocco Guidebook
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Apr 11, 14 at 05:51 PM
View all South America activity »
  1. 1 Plan a 3 month South America trip in less than 2 months:-)
  2. 2 Itinerary advice for a 5 week trip to Peru
  3. 3 Trip to Machu Picchu
  4. 4 RECIFE, where to stay during WORLD CUP??
  5. 5 Fire in Valparaiso
  6. 6 HELP!!! Sao Paulo for a day???
  7. 7 Machu Picchu with a bum knee
  8. 8 Independence Day in Cuzco
  9. 9 Ecuador - should we go?
  10. 10 Buenos Aires + only 1 Patagonia location
  11. 11 Trip Report Back to South America
  12. 12 Cotopaxi Day Tour
  13. 13 Travel from Cusco to Tacna by bus
  14. 14 Peru/Machu Picchu/Cuzco suggestions
  15. 15 Cusco, Pto Maldonado, Titicaca and Trujillo!
  16. 16 Driving in Ecuador
  17. 17 Trip Report Out travels in Bolivia Peru and Ecuador
  18. 18 Trip Report To Buenos Aires and beyond
  19. 19 Should we book Argentina trip in May 2014?
  20. 20 2-3 months backpacking trip to Peru, Bolivia, Chile and Buenos Aires
  21. 21 Brazil/Buzios: Booking bus tickets in advance?
  22. 22 9 day Itinerary Advice: Lima, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu
  23. 23 Question about LAN Peru LAX-Cusco
  24. 24 Sanctuary Lodge vs. Inkaterra
  25. 25 Questions re. Machu Picchu
View next 25 » Back to the top