South America Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

  • Announcement:
  • Recent Spam Attacks
    by mkataoka Fodor's Editor | Posted on Nov 28, 16 at 01:31 PM
View all South America activity »
  1. 1 Seek Suggestions on Trip to Machu Picchu
  2. 2 Help us plan our dream SA trip!
  3. 3 Time in Lima, then Guayaquil, Manta
  4. 4 Avenue of Volcanoes
  5. 5 Waterfalls near Puyo, Tena, and Baeza in Ecuador
  6. 6 Best Trek in Peru? (Huayhuash Circuit vs Inca Trail)
  7. 7 Bariloche car rental
  8. 8 Trip Report: Studying Spanish in Quito and Cuenca 2007
  9. 9 Galapagos and Machu Pichu Itinerary Suggestions
  10. 10 Machu Picchu in January
  11. 11 Dining in Medellin
  12. 12 Medellin's hidden Parque is lovely
  13. 13 Travel with Children to Galapagos
  14. 14 Christmastime in Santiago/Valparaiso - what to do, where to stay
  15. 15 Colca Canyon Earthquake
  16. 16 Rainbow Mountain (Vinicunca), Peru
  17. 17 10 days in Santiago, Easter Islands, San pedro de atacama, doable?
  18. 18 santiago chile area
  19. 19 Beach walk in Rio - Copacabana or Ipanema?
  20. 20 Trip Report Reflections on our South America trip
  21. 21 One Day in Santiago/Tour Guide
  22. 22 Driving from Santiago to Peurto Montt
  23. 23 Chile: first cut a travel plan
  24. 24 Argentina and Bolivia in February and March?
  25. 25 visit in the area of Campinas,Brazil and weather
View next 25 » Back to the top

Itinerary for a 2.5 week trip to Peru and Bolivia

Jump to last reply

I would really appreciate it if I could get some feedback on my Peru/Bolivia itineraries. The only thing that is set in stone is my flight into Lima and out of Santa Cruz and the dates.

Here are two options I am now considering:

OPTION 1:
1 Tues 24-Dec Home -> Lima (arrive 1 am on Dec 25)
2 Wed 25-Dec Lima -> Puerto Maldonado
3 Thurs 26-Dec Amazon Jungle (1-day trip)
4 Fri 27-Dec Puerto Maldonado -> Cuzco (Early AM)
5 Sat 28-Dec Cuzco
6 Sun 29-Dec Cuzco (Sacred Valley)
7 Mon 30-Dec Inca Trail Day 1
8 Tues 31-Dec Inca Trail Day 2
9 Wed 1-Jan Inca Trail Day 3
10 Thurs 2-Jan Inca Trail Day 4
11 Fri 3-Jan Cuzco -> _____*see note below
12 Sat 4-Jan *
13 Sun 5-Jan _______*-> La Paz
14 Mon 6-Jan La Paz, Bolivia (Day trip to bike Death Highway in Coroico)
15 Tues 7-Jan La Paz > Uyuni
16 Wed 8-Jan Uyuni
17 Thurs 9-Jan Uyuni
18 Fri 10-Jan Uyuni -> La Paz -> Santa Cruz (Flight passing through La Paz)
19 Sat 11-Jan Leave Santa Cruz 9:15 am

*I would like to get from Cuzco to La Paz, visiting Isla de Sol and maybe Puno and/or Copacabana in passing. I have seen 2 day catamaran trips that do this.. Please provide recommendations if possible for different options:-)

OPTION 2 (Skip Amazon jungle):
1 Tues 24-Dec Home -> Lima (arrive 1 am)
2 Wed 25-Dec Lima -> Cuzco
3 Thurs 26-Dec Cuzco
4 Fri 27-Dec Cuzco (sacred valley)
5 Sat 28-Dec Inca Trail Day 1
6 Sun 29-Dec Inca Trail Day 2
7 Mon 30-Dec Inca Trail Day 3
8 Tues 31-Dec Inca Trail Day 4
9 Wed 1-Jan Cuzco -> Puno
10 Thurs 2-Jan Puno -> Copacabana
11 Fri 3-Jan Day Trip to Isla de Sol from Copacabana
12 Sat 4-Jan Copacabana -> La Paz
13 Sun 5-Jan La Paz, Bolivia (Day trip to bike Death Highway in Coroico)
14 Mon 6-Jan La Paz -> Uyuni
15 Tues 7-Jan Uyuni
16 Wed 8-Jan Uyuni
17 Thurs 9-Jan Uyuni -> La Paz -> Santa Cruz (Flight passing through La Paz)
18 Fri 10-Jan Santa Cruz (or find can put this day elsewhere, e.g. Cuzco, Uyuni, etc)
19 Sat 11-Jan Leave Santa Cruz 9:15 am

3 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement