Europe Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Europe activity »
  1. 1 Ireland travel passport question
  2. 2 8 Days in Rome in March 2017 - planning thread
  3. 3 Hotel in Vienna
  4. 4 Engadine Valley help
  5. 5 An hour and ten min enough for connection?
  6. 6 Is the Jacobite Steam Train worth it?
  7. 7 Where to buy Saffron?
  8. 8 Euro Travel & Trivia Quiz #150
  9. 9 Base for wine tasting and last night in Lisbon
  10. 10 Tuscany 6 nights
  11. 11 France & Italy, May or June
  12. 12 Europe for 5 days starting with Munich
  13. 13 Planning a European Trip
  14. 14 Trip Report Eastern France - A TR in Pictures
  15. 15 1st time in ZURICH
  16. 16 Trip to CPH - Connection time in Oslo?
  17. 17 Where can I learn how to purchase property in France? (for a US citizen)
  18. 18 Another northern Italy itinerary.
  19. 19 B&B suggestions for Dublin, Kinsale, Killarney, Ennis
  20. 20 French restaurants
  21. 21 Manchester Airport Connection Time
  22. 22 First time in Europe for 10 days! Help!
  23. 23 Trip Report Notes on Venice, Bassano del Grappa, Garda, Cremona & Milan (Sept 2016)
  24. 24 Paris to Barcelona and Lourdes by train/car
  25. 25 Do not use MYIPB to ship from London
View next 25 » Back to the top

Provence Trip in 2012

Jump to last reply

France Trip 2012

The following is my proposed visit in May / June of 2012. I would like to get some opinions on the pacing and whether I am too ambitious or could add more. I've tried to leave time to get back to home base each day for a late evening dinner, but I am flexible, in that if we are somewhere interesting we will stay. I will have a rental car for all times in Provence and will avoid cars in Paris.

If you see a day with some potential or know of something I should see along the way, please comment.

Any and all comments would be appreciated. Good, Bad or Indifferent.

Thanks

Proposed Itinerary

Friday, May 25
Arrive Paris CDG
TGV to Avignon
Rental Car to Saint- Remy-de-Provence (Stay 6 Nights in Saint Remy)
Take it easy – Jet Lag day

Saturday, May 26
Arles

Sunday, May 27
Sunday was a problem -
Aigues Mortes
Saintes-Marie-de-la-Mer (potential for some Roma event around this date)
Chateau Tarascon in late afternoon (before 6PM)

Monday, May 28
Orange
Chateauneuf du Pape (Check out some vineyards)
Avignon (late afternoon & evening)

Tuesday, May 29
Nimes - AM
Uzes - PM
Pont du Gard - About 5 PM

Wednesday, May 30
Saint Remy (Wander around) (Market Day)
Glanum
Les Baux de Provence in late afternoon & evening
(Pretty slow day overall)

Thursday, May 31
Pack up and spend morning in Avignon
Check out Cavaillon in afternoon
Finish in Aix-en-Provence (base for for 2 nights)

Friday, June 1
Cassis – for the day
Aix-en Provence for late afternoon & evening

Saturday, June 2
Aix-en Provence for morning (market day)
Move on to Apt – late morning (market potential in Apt if we make it – but no hurry)
Saignon – for lunch
Finish in Bonnieux about 4 PM
Check in - base for 7 nights

Sunday, June 3
Coustellet (market)
L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue (market)
Fontaine de Vaucluse – check out golf course near Avignon and step on the 18th
Lacoste - Stay for dinner?

Monday, June 4
Sault
Gorges de la Nesque
Mont Ventoux (lunch time picnic on the peak)
Carpentras

Tuesday, June 5
Goult
Gordes
Roussillon

Wednesday, June 6
Oppede le Vieux
Menerbes
Some Wineries in area

Thursday, June 7
Foret de Cedres
More Wineries
Seems like a slow day

Friday, June 8
Bonnieux market
Lourmarin market
Cucuron
Pertuis
Cadenet

Saturday, June 9
Head to Avignon – early morning
TGV to Paris – 3 nights
Tour Paris

Sunday, June 10
Versailles in AM
Paris in PM and evening

Monday, June 11
Tour Paris

Tuesday, June 12
Fly Home

Advertisement