Europe Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Europe activity »
  1. 1 Trip Report ACHAT DES PERMIS DE CONDUIRE FRANCAIS, BELGE
  2. 2 Favorite restaurants in Barcelona, Seville, Granada, San Sebastian
  3. 3 Favorite restaurants in Paris
  4. 4 Train passes
  5. 5 Trip Report Les bons plans de Whathello
  6. 6 Best places in Paris to catch Pokémon?
  7. 7 Girls Trip to Rome!
  8. 8 Berlin/Prague/Vienna/Budapest
  9. 9 3 Days in Naples...
  10. 10 Trip Report Les bons plans de whathello - paris - hotel
  11. 11 Timing when visiting the Dordogne Department
  12. 12 Trip Report Paris, the Bernese Oberland, and Bavaria with 2 kids
  13. 13 Our time in Rome
  14. 14 Renting International Cars from USA
  15. 15 Trip Report Germany, May'16: Four seasons in three weeks.
  16. 16 Flamenco concerts in Madrid
  17. 17 Rioja - Where to Stay the Night?
  18. 18 Enjoying England for a year!
  19. 19 Spain - Advice for Beach towns
  20. 20 Iceland in 4 days?
  21. 21 Europe itinerary
  22. 22 Advice on these Madrid apartments and hostels please.
  23. 23 London road closings this weekend: Bike Race
  24. 24 Europe itinerary review
  25. 25 Sept. 2016 Apt. In Paris just cancelled---YIKES!
View next 25 » Back to the top

Provence Trip in 2012

Jump to last reply

France Trip 2012

The following is my proposed visit in May / June of 2012. I would like to get some opinions on the pacing and whether I am too ambitious or could add more. I've tried to leave time to get back to home base each day for a late evening dinner, but I am flexible, in that if we are somewhere interesting we will stay. I will have a rental car for all times in Provence and will avoid cars in Paris.

If you see a day with some potential or know of something I should see along the way, please comment.

Any and all comments would be appreciated. Good, Bad or Indifferent.

Thanks

Proposed Itinerary

Friday, May 25
Arrive Paris CDG
TGV to Avignon
Rental Car to Saint- Remy-de-Provence (Stay 6 Nights in Saint Remy)
Take it easy – Jet Lag day

Saturday, May 26
Arles

Sunday, May 27
Sunday was a problem -
Aigues Mortes
Saintes-Marie-de-la-Mer (potential for some Roma event around this date)
Chateau Tarascon in late afternoon (before 6PM)

Monday, May 28
Orange
Chateauneuf du Pape (Check out some vineyards)
Avignon (late afternoon & evening)

Tuesday, May 29
Nimes - AM
Uzes - PM
Pont du Gard - About 5 PM

Wednesday, May 30
Saint Remy (Wander around) (Market Day)
Glanum
Les Baux de Provence in late afternoon & evening
(Pretty slow day overall)

Thursday, May 31
Pack up and spend morning in Avignon
Check out Cavaillon in afternoon
Finish in Aix-en-Provence (base for for 2 nights)

Friday, June 1
Cassis – for the day
Aix-en Provence for late afternoon & evening

Saturday, June 2
Aix-en Provence for morning (market day)
Move on to Apt – late morning (market potential in Apt if we make it – but no hurry)
Saignon – for lunch
Finish in Bonnieux about 4 PM
Check in - base for 7 nights

Sunday, June 3
Coustellet (market)
L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue (market)
Fontaine de Vaucluse – check out golf course near Avignon and step on the 18th
Lacoste - Stay for dinner?

Monday, June 4
Sault
Gorges de la Nesque
Mont Ventoux (lunch time picnic on the peak)
Carpentras

Tuesday, June 5
Goult
Gordes
Roussillon

Wednesday, June 6
Oppede le Vieux
Menerbes
Some Wineries in area

Thursday, June 7
Foret de Cedres
More Wineries
Seems like a slow day

Friday, June 8
Bonnieux market
Lourmarin market
Cucuron
Pertuis
Cadenet

Saturday, June 9
Head to Avignon – early morning
TGV to Paris – 3 nights
Tour Paris

Sunday, June 10
Versailles in AM
Paris in PM and evening

Monday, June 11
Tour Paris

Tuesday, June 12
Fly Home

Advertisement