Europe Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Europe activity »
  1. 1 YAHOO Recovery CONTACT ☎1:800:540:6830 YAHOO Mail Technical HELPLINE
  2. 2 IWM
  3. 3 Paris Favorites (the 11th & wine regions)
  4. 4 One night in the Dolomites
  5. 5 Stumbling on the path to a Russian visa
  6. 6 Trip Report Madrid, Andalucia, Barcelona in May
  7. 7 Kayak = Priceline and unavailable flights?
  8. 8 Itinery help Crete
  9. 9 Greek honeymoon: He wants sightseeing, she wants beaches
  10. 10 Madrid or Barcelona first?
  11. 11 6 day trip to Italy... Venice to rome
  12. 12 Train/car from Madrid to Toledo tomorrow
  13. 13 Rome-Switzerland-Paris-Rome 2 week trip
  14. 14 3 nights in Madrid
  15. 15 Stowing Luggage at Florence for a day!
  16. 16 Shortest wait for the Vatican without prebooking online?
  17. 17 London 6 day itinerary
  18. 18 Rome hotel
  19. 19 Very British Neighborhood in London
  20. 20 Best Barcelona neighborhood
  21. 21 London Hotel - Different Request
  22. 22 alcazar question and seville advice
  23. 23 Spain itinerary and railway advise
  24. 24 Paris then Italy? Or Greece?
  25. 25 Cycling Nice into Italy along the coast
View next 25 » Back to the top

Provence Trip in 2012

Jump to last reply

France Trip 2012

The following is my proposed visit in May / June of 2012. I would like to get some opinions on the pacing and whether I am too ambitious or could add more. I've tried to leave time to get back to home base each day for a late evening dinner, but I am flexible, in that if we are somewhere interesting we will stay. I will have a rental car for all times in Provence and will avoid cars in Paris.

If you see a day with some potential or know of something I should see along the way, please comment.

Any and all comments would be appreciated. Good, Bad or Indifferent.

Thanks

Proposed Itinerary

Friday, May 25
Arrive Paris CDG
TGV to Avignon
Rental Car to Saint- Remy-de-Provence (Stay 6 Nights in Saint Remy)
Take it easy – Jet Lag day

Saturday, May 26
Arles

Sunday, May 27
Sunday was a problem -
Aigues Mortes
Saintes-Marie-de-la-Mer (potential for some Roma event around this date)
Chateau Tarascon in late afternoon (before 6PM)

Monday, May 28
Orange
Chateauneuf du Pape (Check out some vineyards)
Avignon (late afternoon & evening)

Tuesday, May 29
Nimes - AM
Uzes - PM
Pont du Gard - About 5 PM

Wednesday, May 30
Saint Remy (Wander around) (Market Day)
Glanum
Les Baux de Provence in late afternoon & evening
(Pretty slow day overall)

Thursday, May 31
Pack up and spend morning in Avignon
Check out Cavaillon in afternoon
Finish in Aix-en-Provence (base for for 2 nights)

Friday, June 1
Cassis – for the day
Aix-en Provence for late afternoon & evening

Saturday, June 2
Aix-en Provence for morning (market day)
Move on to Apt – late morning (market potential in Apt if we make it – but no hurry)
Saignon – for lunch
Finish in Bonnieux about 4 PM
Check in - base for 7 nights

Sunday, June 3
Coustellet (market)
L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue (market)
Fontaine de Vaucluse – check out golf course near Avignon and step on the 18th
Lacoste - Stay for dinner?

Monday, June 4
Sault
Gorges de la Nesque
Mont Ventoux (lunch time picnic on the peak)
Carpentras

Tuesday, June 5
Goult
Gordes
Roussillon

Wednesday, June 6
Oppede le Vieux
Menerbes
Some Wineries in area

Thursday, June 7
Foret de Cedres
More Wineries
Seems like a slow day

Friday, June 8
Bonnieux market
Lourmarin market
Cucuron
Pertuis
Cadenet

Saturday, June 9
Head to Avignon – early morning
TGV to Paris – 3 nights
Tour Paris

Sunday, June 10
Versailles in AM
Paris in PM and evening

Monday, June 11
Tour Paris

Tuesday, June 12
Fly Home

Advertisement