Europe Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Europe activity »
  1. 1 I don't want to meet locals
  2. 2 Paris---baguette question???
  3. 3 Chip and Sign credit cards usage in europe
  4. 4 Want to Meet the Locals? Try Camping
  5. 5 Has anyone every used a company called Portugal Trails
  6. 6 Pyrenees 10-Day Driving Itinerary
  7. 7 Trip Report RHK's Fall escape
  8. 8 Need Paris Flight Advice
  9. 9 Where in Tuscany to base ourselves for a week?
  10. 10 Neighborhood Bistros in Paris
  11. 11 Want to meet the locals? Some new ideas
  12. 12 What type of visa is right for me?
  13. 13 Help me decide where to go xmas week
  14. 14 Christmas Eve
  15. 15 Traveling to Europe mid November - suggestions
  16. 16 Advice? 2 weeks in Sicily with our 4-year-old
  17. 17 Olive farm visit in Tuscany - olive harvest, oil pressing
  18. 18 Berlin
  19. 19 Glassblowing in Prague
  20. 20 Revised post- cruise itinerary
  21. 21 Trip Report Eiffel Tower Fireworks Photos July 14th
  22. 22 Trip Report Mallorca: Off the tourist trail
  23. 23 a loss about Paris
  24. 24 Trip Report From Barcelona to Valencia… and the not-quite-beaten path in between
  25. 25 Trip Report The Princess Diaries: My Three Week Odyssey In Poland And Romania
View next 25 » Back to the top

Provence Trip in 2012

Jump to last reply

France Trip 2012

The following is my proposed visit in May / June of 2012. I would like to get some opinions on the pacing and whether I am too ambitious or could add more. I've tried to leave time to get back to home base each day for a late evening dinner, but I am flexible, in that if we are somewhere interesting we will stay. I will have a rental car for all times in Provence and will avoid cars in Paris.

If you see a day with some potential or know of something I should see along the way, please comment.

Any and all comments would be appreciated. Good, Bad or Indifferent.


Proposed Itinerary

Friday, May 25
Arrive Paris CDG
TGV to Avignon
Rental Car to Saint- Remy-de-Provence (Stay 6 Nights in Saint Remy)
Take it easy – Jet Lag day

Saturday, May 26

Sunday, May 27
Sunday was a problem -
Aigues Mortes
Saintes-Marie-de-la-Mer (potential for some Roma event around this date)
Chateau Tarascon in late afternoon (before 6PM)

Monday, May 28
Chateauneuf du Pape (Check out some vineyards)
Avignon (late afternoon & evening)

Tuesday, May 29
Nimes - AM
Uzes - PM
Pont du Gard - About 5 PM

Wednesday, May 30
Saint Remy (Wander around) (Market Day)
Les Baux de Provence in late afternoon & evening
(Pretty slow day overall)

Thursday, May 31
Pack up and spend morning in Avignon
Check out Cavaillon in afternoon
Finish in Aix-en-Provence (base for for 2 nights)

Friday, June 1
Cassis – for the day
Aix-en Provence for late afternoon & evening

Saturday, June 2
Aix-en Provence for morning (market day)
Move on to Apt – late morning (market potential in Apt if we make it – but no hurry)
Saignon – for lunch
Finish in Bonnieux about 4 PM
Check in - base for 7 nights

Sunday, June 3
Coustellet (market)
L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue (market)
Fontaine de Vaucluse – check out golf course near Avignon and step on the 18th
Lacoste - Stay for dinner?

Monday, June 4
Gorges de la Nesque
Mont Ventoux (lunch time picnic on the peak)

Tuesday, June 5

Wednesday, June 6
Oppede le Vieux
Some Wineries in area

Thursday, June 7
Foret de Cedres
More Wineries
Seems like a slow day

Friday, June 8
Bonnieux market
Lourmarin market

Saturday, June 9
Head to Avignon – early morning
TGV to Paris – 3 nights
Tour Paris

Sunday, June 10
Versailles in AM
Paris in PM and evening

Monday, June 11
Tour Paris

Tuesday, June 12
Fly Home