Europe Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Europe activity »
  1. 1 Fabric Shops in Paris
  2. 2 Family Friendly Day Trips from Arezzo
  3. 3 Portugal In A Week-The Places You'd Go Back To
  4. 4 How to spend 3 days btwn Milan and Florence
  5. 5 Advice getting from Robin Hood's Bay to London
  6. 6 Help w/ 2-week itinerary to Switzerland w/ 7 yr old
  7. 7 Greece and Italy Combo
  8. 8 Cinqueterre
  9. 9 Car rental in Europe (Kemwel)
  10. 10 Clean up spam
  11. 11 A birthday dinner in Sevilla
  12. 12 Time required from flight touchdown at Heathrow to King's Cross
  13. 13 Trip Report Great Woin's restaurnats in Paris
  14. 14 Marathon Sunday in Budapest
  15. 15 Visit to Engand
  16. 16 Versailles - Much More than the Palace!
  17. 17 Suggestions for two night stay near Athens airport?
  18. 18 Amalfi Coast, Italy
  19. 19 Able to use Googlepay or Samsung Pay?
  20. 20 Gardens & GTGs
  21. 21 credit and debit cards
  22. 22 Trip Report A Scrumptious Slice of Slovenia
  23. 23 Spain/Portugal Travel for Older Couple
  24. 24 Ottolenghi walk-ins?
  25. 25 Seeking advice on apt rental
View next 25 » Back to the top

3 weeks driving trip in May end in Scandinavia (mainly Norway)

Jump to last reply

Background - I and my wife along with my 10 year old daughter would be travelling to Scandinavia (mainly Norway). We plan to drive most of the time - except fro catching a flight from Stockholm to Tromso and from Tromso to Alesund. On the ground we will always have a car.

We love natural scenery, I love photography, old buildings, lighthouses etc. A bit of interesting museums but not that much into big city scene and nightlife. We like short easy hikes - 1 to 3 hours, nothing very difficult.

The tentative itinerary is given below followed by a list of questions.

> ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Date ... ... ... NightStay ... ... Routes
> ----------- ------------------ -----------------------------------------------------
> 16-May Wed ... Copenhagen ... ... Land at 8:30 AM, Hire Car, Local Sights
> 17-May Thu ... Copenhagen ... ... Local Sights
> 18-May Fri ... Stockholm ... ... Drive over Oresund bridge to Stockholm - long drive.
> 19-May Sat ... Stockholm ... ... Local Sights
> 20-May Sun ... Stockholm ... ... Local Sights, Archipalego trip
> 21-May Mon ... Tromso ... ... Fly to Tromso, Norway, Hire Car
> 22-May Tue ... Tromso ... ... Tromso and Around, Midnight Sun
> 23-May Wed ... Tromso ... ... Senja?
> 24-May Thu ... Alesund ... ... Mng Fly to Alesund, Hire Car, see Alesund, Runde, Lighthouse
> 25-May Fri ... Alesund ... ... Around Alesund - Atlantic Road (Fv 64)
> 26-May Sat ... Geiranger ... ... Drive to Trollstigen (Route63), Gieranger-Hellesylt Ferry
> 27-May Sun ... Sogndal (?) ... ... Drive over 15 and Sognefjellet Route Fv55
> 28-May Mon ... Flam ... ... ... Do Glacier Walk, to Flam over Fv243 - Lærdal to Aurland
> 29-May Tue ... Flam ... ... ... Do a round trip on Flamsbana train, Around Flam
> 30-May Wed ... Bergen ... ... ... Drive to Bergen, Bergen Sights
> 31-May Thu ... Bergen ... ... ... Funicular to Foebian, Bryggen etc
> 01-Jun Fri ... Lofthus/Eidfjord(?) ... Drive via 550 and 13 (Hardanger)
> 02-Jun Sat ... Oslo ... ... ... Drive via Hardangervidda to Oslo via on 7
> 03-Jun Sun ... Oslo ... ... ... Oslo Surronds
> 04-Jun Mon ... Oslo ... ... ... Catch Flight Back
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have tried to cover many "national Tourist routes in Norway.

So - please tear away at this itinerary and please offer suggestions:

1. Interesting routes to take
2. Interesting detours for viewpoints, farms, lighthouses etc
3. Suggestions for short walks/hikes
4. Suggestions for hotels (mid to high end) and restaurants/stopover points

Thank you very much for your time and help!

6 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement