Canada Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

  • Announcements:
  • Umbria Writers Needed
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 16, 15 at 03:13 PM
  • Writers Need for New Zealand Guide
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 15, 15 at 03:11 PM
View all Canada activity »
  1. 1 Ideas on Newfoundland
  2. 2 Getting a taste of the maritime provinces
  3. 3 10-day round trip NB, Nova Scotia, and PEI starting and ending in Halifax
  4. 4 NB, Nova Scotia, and PEI
  5. 5 Trip Report 8wks Exploring Canada, Alaska & the Northwestern States
  6. 6 Must-Sees & Must-Dos in Lake Louise
  7. 7 Where to Eat & Drink in Vancouver!
  8. 8 Driving to Vancouver from Calgary
  9. 9 Ottawa recs?
  10. 10 Portland to Nova Scotia in 5 days???
  11. 11 Anyone flying from Quebec City to the States in August?
  12. 12 Quebec Jazz? other to do's?
  13. 13 car needed in Vancouver?
  14. 14 Trip to Banff from Glacier National Park
  15. 15 Flying into Calgary for 3 days
  16. 16 Anyone flying to the States from Quebec City in August?
  17. 17 Suggestions for 8 day itinerary to Nova Scotia
  18. 18 7 day itinerary of Nova Scotia
  19. 19 Wildlife and Polar Bear Tours
  20. 20 road trip toronto to nova scotia
  21. 21 Western Ontario and Manitoba Drive
  22. 22 limited time biking - Eastern Canada
  23. 23 Forming itinerary--Moraine Lake to Jasper to Banff Springs this Sept.
  24. 24 Its vegan capsules ignite the fat loss
  25. 25 Underwhelmed by Montreal - any suggestions?
View next 25 » Back to the top

Beware of Cottage owner in Ottawa/Renfrew area

Jump to last reply

December 2009, My wife and I decided to spend our Winter vacation in Canada. We did a search through http://www.Cottagesincanada.com and finally decided on one of the cottages close to Renfrew, listed under http://www.cottagesincanada.com/looncovecottage/default.asp?lang=e
Although a bit on the expensive side, we thought the comfort might be worth it and went for it. Even when the owner decided to charge us $250 to supply us with one linen only for 2 weeks, we still didn’t want to make a big deal out of it.
When we arrived, the cottage was in ok standart. It was dusty here and there but full of dead flies all over the floors. It might have been close to 400-500 dead flies lying around everywhere in every room and corner. This seemed a bit strange to us because the cottage was supposed to be cleaned up before we arrived. The infamous $250 linens were wrinkled and full of moth holes.
We unpacked and decided to jump into the outside jacuzzi to relax a bit. After 10 minuttes in the jacuzzi, I felt something at the bottom of the tub. Carefully I picked it up and to my suprise, it was a very big piece of broken glass. This piece was as big as the palm of my hand and it could have scarred me or my wife in a way that we would have needed stitches. I felt the bottom of the tub a bit more and to my horror, I felt more broken pieces of glass. I called the owner and informed him about this.
Nevertheless, we didnt let this experience dampen our spirits and the day before we left the cottage, my wife and I spent the whole day cleaning the cottage from top to bottom as if it was our own place.
We came back to Germany and a month later, I sent an email to the owner, Mr. Denis Patry, requesting my refund. The owner claimed that he had not received the phone bill yet and he would refund my deposit as soon as he receives it. (We had made 4 calls to United States). 2 months later I sent another email. The owner never replied back. Another month passed and I kept sending the owner emails and calling him on the cell phone number he provided. He never replied back. I left numerous comments on his website http://www.looncove.ca but none of my posts ever showed. Finally one day the owner replied back, and to my suprise, he was stating that he would not refund my deposit since we left the cottage in a bad condition. I decided to sent an email to the advertising website, asking the website owner to interfere. After numerous emails, the website owner informed me that the owner agreed to refund my money and to let him know in 2 weeks if I didnt receive it. It has been over 9 months now and still to this date, no refunds!
The funny thing is he even said that he has forwarded my emails to the authorities and if I show up in his property, they would deal with me :)
If interested, you can read my article, including his emails at:

http://rentinginontario.com/archives/34

Please keep my warning at mind if anyone comes across his advert.

17 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement