Canada Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Canada activity »
  1. 1 Nous vendons subutex 2mg, 8mg, subuxone aux côtés d'autres pilules
  2. 2 Vancouver and possibly elsewhere for two weeks?
  3. 3 Help with Niagara Falls and Toronto planning, please!
  4. 4 What are best Caribbean restaurants in Toronto?
  5. 5 Banff/Lake Louise/Jasper Itinerary Help
  6. 6 Nova Scotia. PEI - NFL?
  7. 7 Detroit to Windsor must do's
  8. 8 Icefields Pkwy going North in one day?
  9. 9 Nova Scotia Travel Input
  10. 10 Temporary residency in Canada
  11. 11 Vacation trip to Quebec
  12. 12 Tekarra Lodge/Becker's chalets/Pyramid Lodge
  13. 13 water filtration
  14. 14 Please plan our Saturday-Sunday Canadian Rockies trip!
  15. 15 Trip Report Montreal & Quebec Trip Report
  16. 16 Western Canada in August
  17. 17 Rental Car- Canada Pick up and Drop off in Montana
  18. 18 Car rental: from Edmonton, flying out of Vancouver
  19. 19 U.S. ATM Bank (unchipped) cards work in Canada?
  20. 20 Jasper with two elderly
  21. 21 Dempster highway in early September
  22. 22 jasper
  23. 23 Banff, Lake Louise and Jasper ?
  24. 24 Toronto-afternoon tea
  25. 25 BC Ferries Experience Card
View next 25 » Back to the top

Beware of Cottage owner in Ottawa/Renfrew area

Jump to last reply

December 2009, My wife and I decided to spend our Winter vacation in Canada. We did a search through http://www.Cottagesincanada.com and finally decided on one of the cottages close to Renfrew, listed under http://www.cottagesincanada.com/looncovecottage/default.asp?lang=e
Although a bit on the expensive side, we thought the comfort might be worth it and went for it. Even when the owner decided to charge us $250 to supply us with one linen only for 2 weeks, we still didn’t want to make a big deal out of it.
When we arrived, the cottage was in ok standart. It was dusty here and there but full of dead flies all over the floors. It might have been close to 400-500 dead flies lying around everywhere in every room and corner. This seemed a bit strange to us because the cottage was supposed to be cleaned up before we arrived. The infamous $250 linens were wrinkled and full of moth holes.
We unpacked and decided to jump into the outside jacuzzi to relax a bit. After 10 minuttes in the jacuzzi, I felt something at the bottom of the tub. Carefully I picked it up and to my suprise, it was a very big piece of broken glass. This piece was as big as the palm of my hand and it could have scarred me or my wife in a way that we would have needed stitches. I felt the bottom of the tub a bit more and to my horror, I felt more broken pieces of glass. I called the owner and informed him about this.
Nevertheless, we didnt let this experience dampen our spirits and the day before we left the cottage, my wife and I spent the whole day cleaning the cottage from top to bottom as if it was our own place.
We came back to Germany and a month later, I sent an email to the owner, Mr. Denis Patry, requesting my refund. The owner claimed that he had not received the phone bill yet and he would refund my deposit as soon as he receives it. (We had made 4 calls to United States). 2 months later I sent another email. The owner never replied back. Another month passed and I kept sending the owner emails and calling him on the cell phone number he provided. He never replied back. I left numerous comments on his website http://www.looncove.ca but none of my posts ever showed. Finally one day the owner replied back, and to my suprise, he was stating that he would not refund my deposit since we left the cottage in a bad condition. I decided to sent an email to the advertising website, asking the website owner to interfere. After numerous emails, the website owner informed me that the owner agreed to refund my money and to let him know in 2 weeks if I didnt receive it. It has been over 9 months now and still to this date, no refunds!
The funny thing is he even said that he has forwarded my emails to the authorities and if I show up in his property, they would deal with me :)
If interested, you can read my article, including his emails at:

http://rentinginontario.com/archives/34

Please keep my warning at mind if anyone comes across his advert.

17 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement