Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

  • Announcements:
  • Writers Needed for Mexico
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 24, 14 at 12:19 PM
  • Writers Needed for Georgia Coast
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 18, 14 at 03:12 PM
  • Writers Needed for Rwanda and Uganda
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 18, 14 at 03:12 PM
View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 trip to sapa not taking a tour
  2. 2 Myanmar - Organizing Trip for 2015
  3. 3 Exploring Thailand
  4. 4 Nha Trang Island, Phu Quoc, or Sihanoukville
  5. 5 Japan in December
  6. 6 A Few Osaka & Kyoto Questions Kudasai!
  7. 7 Drivers for Laos & Java
  8. 8 Trip Report Destination Bangkok, again
  9. 9 10 Day trip to Thailand - end of March
  10. 10 anyone been to minsk aircraft carrier, Shenzhen while staying in Kowloon
  11. 11 Trip Report 4 wonderful solo weeks in South Korea
  12. 12 Phuket
  13. 13 More time in Hoi An or Nha Trang? Not beach enthusiasts
  14. 14 Vietnam Itinerary - Please
  15. 15 Looking for advice on short Burma itinerary
  16. 16 Honeymoon in Nha Trang
  17. 17 Knockoff Designer bags in Vietnam?
  18. 18 Phones in Asia
  19. 19 Scouting for early retirement locations
  20. 20 marmot and Others - Looking for Bali Furniture Advice
  21. 21 Recommended reading about Nepal
  22. 22 India Add-on
  23. 23 Trip Report Hong Kong in June - Oh The Humidity!!
  24. 24 Luang Prabang -- budget guesthouse?
  25. 25 Travel during China national week?
View next 25 » Back to the top