Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

  • Announcement:
  • Writers Needed for Japan
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Mar 26, 15 at 02:38 PM
View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Asia Tour Companies
  2. 2 Planning for Nov/Dec trip to Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, LP, Hanoi via HK
  3. 3 Inida- scenic places, national parks, where to go?
  4. 4 thai air Discovery pass question
  5. 5 Planning trip to India, have a couple of questions
  6. 6 Spending a Week in Bangalore-Any Ideas?
  7. 7 21 days thailand and vietnam
  8. 8 India...Men's shorts OK?
  9. 9 Kllok Travel for Hong Kong. Anybody use it?
  10. 10 Car rental recommendation - Kanazawa
  11. 11 Trip Report Angkor Wat guide
  12. 12 Feedback on Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia Itinerary, Please!
  13. 13 Visa for Burma/Myanmar from US Embassy in DC?
  14. 14 CAMBODIA to VIETNAM
  15. 15 Delhi hotel & Pickup
  16. 16 Trip Report Travel in India: Some Observations and Impressions
  17. 17 Tokyo Map Recommendation
  18. 18 2015 Cherry Blossom Forecast Published
  19. 19 Restaurant and Shopping Recs in Hong Kong, Shanghai, Seoul, Tokyo
  20. 20 Samui Travelers, Tell Me it is Safer Than What I'm Reading : (
  21. 21 Beware of Many China Job & Internship Scams Targeting Tourists
  22. 22 Driver/Guide recommendation for day trips from Ubud?
  23. 23 10 days in South Korea?
  24. 24 Trip Report Anantara Riverside Bangkok
  25. 25 Hotels and Hostels in Thailand
View next 25 » Back to the top