Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 First trip to Japan-17 night Itinerary in Cherry Blossom season
  2. 2 Indian visa
  3. 3 Trip Report The City, the River, the Jungle: Our Holiday in Kuching - Borneo
  4. 4 Trip Report Hello from Thailand - I'm here!
  5. 5 Assistance planning remaining 5 days in South Thailand
  6. 6 Is Asiana Airlines safe?
  7. 7 Trip Report A week of blue skies in Beijing, who would've guessed?
  8. 8 Art in Shanghai
  9. 9 Trip Report Does anyone goes through Dream Heaven Adventure?
  10. 10 Which to see first - Kyoto or Tokyo?
  11. 11 Dress code in India
  12. 12 Mangalore, India as cruise stop…seems underwhelming
  13. 13 One week in India
  14. 14 Thailand for 3 weeks---how much money (in USD) do I need?!
  15. 15 Final Itinerary Kyoto area through Kamakura (skipping Tokyo this trip)
  16. 16 Wedding anniversary in Bali
  17. 17 Can you HELP with figuring out United Miles and how to get them SF-Bangkok?
  18. 18 Bali for 10 days need help with budget
  19. 19 help me plan my first trip to japan!
  20. 20 Shoe/sock étiquette for temple viewing
  21. 21 Japan--Visiting Saihoji (Moss Temple)
  22. 22 13 Hour layover in KL, never visited city before, ideas?
  23. 23 Passport Safety
  24. 24 Kyoto: hotel choices, guides,day trip to Nara
  25. 25 To Hue or not to Hue?
View next 25 » Back to the top