Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

  • Announcement:
  • Fodor's Go List 2015 Has Been Announced
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Dec 19, 14 at 05:08 PM
View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Trip Report vietnam and laos
  2. 2 Trip Report My SEA trip - photos update
  3. 3 Nepal- recipe?
  4. 4 A Thailand holiday vacation 9 years in a row!
  5. 5 Trip Report wisata pulau seribu
  6. 6 Bangkok: Shangri-La, Penninsula, Mandarin Oriental
  7. 7 Busan in two weeks January 2015, coping with the cold.
  8. 8 Which Section of Great Wall? And add visit to Ming Tombs?
  9. 9 Trip Report Travel Report for Laos - Asia’s Most Relaxed Destination
  10. 10 Best country to visit 1st time in Southeast Asia
  11. 11 Myanmar Itinerary Please Help?!
  12. 12 Trip to Borneo to See Orangutans
  13. 13 Travelling btwn M'asia&Jkt
  14. 14 Kerala Itinerary - Houseboat and Tree House Questions
  15. 15 Moving to KL: Sim card + Place to stay
  16. 16 10 Day Japan Trip - Need Some Help Choosing!
  17. 17 First trip to Vietnam! Help me with my itinerary please!
  18. 18 Trip Report Travel Report to Siem Reap + Angkor + Northwest Cambodia
  19. 19 New Hanoi Hotel opening
  20. 20 Trip Report A week of blue skies in Beijing, who would've guessed?
  21. 21 Connaught Place
  22. 22 questions about trip to Mrauk U
  23. 23 Trip Report Burma - Our Mad Dash Across Too Much
  24. 24 Bali - seeking feedback on 3-week itinerary
  25. 25 Which to see first - Kyoto or Tokyo?
View next 25 » Back to the top