Asia Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Itinerary set for Japan trip #2: working on some details
  2. 2 Advice on Cambodia & Vietnam please.
  3. 3 First time to SEA
  4. 4 Preliminary planning - Sri Lanka+Singapore+Bangkok
  5. 5 HK - affordable "outer" areas for accommodation
  6. 6 Hakone station confusion
  7. 7 Seoul Searching Questions ;-)
  8. 8 Malaysia or Philipines May or end of June
  9. 9 Sinorama Tour-Oct. 1, 2016
  10. 10 Hong Kong - 3 nights/days - Itinerary Suggestions?
  11. 11 Shanghai - one free day ?what to do
  12. 12 Your Feedback Appreciated on Two Possible Thailand/Cambodia Itineraries
  13. 13 Trip with kids. Singapore or Japan ??
  14. 14 Interestig article about Luang Prabang & UNESCO heritage appellation
  15. 15 Japanese art
  16. 16 Beijing - ? - Hong Kong. Where should we go in between?
  17. 17 Backstreet Academy
  18. 18 Travelling in China during the summer period
  19. 19 Visa on Arrival
  20. 20 Deluxe Luangsay cruise or mid-range cruise like Nagi of Mekong or Shompoo?
  21. 21 Cebu where to stay
  22. 22 Osaka Kyoto Nara Itinerary
  23. 23 Borneo/Sabah Itinerary: Danum or Kinabatagan?
  24. 24 Last questions (train pass!) on 19-day itinerary
  25. 25 Traveling to SE Asia
View next 25 » Back to the top

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement