Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 21 days thailand and vietnam
  2. 2 Bali - January 2015
  3. 3 Sri Lanka itinerary-please critic
  4. 4 Taken to the police station for not carrying documents... please, help!
  5. 5 Guide/Driver for Mumbai,
  6. 6 Please comment re. itinerary for Indochina
  7. 7 Trip Report Stop-over in Seoul
  8. 8 Need help planning a trip to Myanmar, Laos and Vietnam
  9. 9 Pai in N. Thailand? Worth it?
  10. 10 Day trip by car from Kyoto?
  11. 11 Trip Report Mad Dash Across Too Much - Sri Lanka Not Bangladesh
  12. 12 Plans for Nepal/Bhutan continued: how does this sound??
  13. 13 Trip Report Our favorite hotels and restaurants of Bali – Ubud, Amed, Pemuteran
  14. 14 meeting at beijing airport
  15. 15 One week in Tokyo
  16. 16 Suggestions for bike tour operators that offer smaller tours (4-5 days)
  17. 17 Bali and Java - 24 September to 23 October 2014
  18. 18 Souvenirs/shopping in Thailand
  19. 19 Travelling in China at Christmas
  20. 20 Sri Lanka vacation with 4 year old.... 10 Day Itenerary Review Help...
  21. 21 Confused about where to stay in Tokyo
  22. 22 Hotel in Singapore
  23. 23 Any new BKK hotels or with new mgt. worth checking on?
  24. 24 Trip Report Cooking in Chiang Mai & Driving Around Northern Thailand
  25. 25 Visa Cambodia
View next 25 » Back to the top