Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Souvenirs/shopping in Thailand
  2. 2 THAILAND** Redone based on feedback dropped agent trying to do it myself
  3. 3 Overnight layover/transit in PEK or Shanghai WITHOUT a visa?
  4. 4 Thailand,Cambodia,Vietnam Itinerary ***Open to any suggestions
  5. 5 Thailand and where else in December? Sweden, Australia, Asian cruise?
  6. 6 Flights from Bangkok to Phnom Penh
  7. 7 china
  8. 8 TIPS FOR TRAVELLING THE PHILIPPINES
  9. 9 5 days booked in Ubud - would you spend one at the Writer's festival?
  10. 10 Trip Report where to next after Nanjing 2014 youth olympic games
  11. 11 Travelling in China at Christmas
  12. 12 Please critique my Thailand itinerary
  13. 13 Chiang Mai, flight: best travel logistics to which Island?
  14. 14 Trip Report China - Personal recommendations
  15. 15 Trip Report TRIP REPORT: Seoul, South Korea (9 days)
  16. 16 May 31st to June 13th, 2015 in Thailand, need help in itinerary
  17. 17 Exploring Taiwan off-the-beaten path and on a scooter
  18. 18 Vietnam and Angkor Wat, Cambodia: Need help organizing Itinerary
  19. 19 Burma river cruise
  20. 20 Driving in Laos
  21. 21 JR PASS AND ITINERARY
  22. 22 Kyoto to Koyasan, then Koyasan to Hiroshima
  23. 23 How would you organize this itinerary?
  24. 24 21 days thailand and vietnam
  25. 25 Translation Help: Marathi
View next 25 » Back to the top