Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Suggestions for Itinerary from Beijing to Shanghai?
  2. 2 Overnight Train from Beijing to Xian
  3. 3 Trip Report On the Road in Beautiful Sri Lanka
  4. 4 Amazing aerial footage from Kathmandu to Everest
  5. 5 Indus Travel - Royal India Tour March 2016
  6. 6 Dream Trip Itinerary - Backing Asia to Europe
  7. 7 Trip Report Part 2 - A major meander through Australia/Tasmania, Bali, Laos & Vietnam
  8. 8 Thailand Itinerary Rough Plan
  9. 9 Cambodia itinerary advice and luggage storage?
  10. 10 "Copying" Favorite Clothes
  11. 11 Trip Report Tokyo: Belated Trip Report
  12. 12 Question: Using JR Pass on Narita Express upon arrival
  13. 13 Gang rape in India. Again.
  14. 14 Vietnam - 7 days from HCM
  15. 15 Weather in April
  16. 16 Train vs Bus vs Taxi from Narita to Tokyo/Takkyubin service to Narita
  17. 17 Can you take luggage on the bullet train, or should the hotel send it on?
  18. 18 Malaysia travel route help!
  19. 19 Laos Visa on Arrival - Need Cash in US Dollars?
  20. 20 Nepal - Lucky Escape!
  21. 21 15 night Honeymoon in Bali- April 2015
  22. 22 Thailand for 2 weeks January 2016
  23. 23 Itinerary help for 7 days in Japan
  24. 24 help with planning a trip to Vietnam
  25. 25 Seeking itinerary advice - 14 days in Japan in November
View next 25 » Back to the top