Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

  • Announcement: Writers Needed for Morocco Guidebook
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Apr 11, 14 at 05:51 PM
View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Hong Kong in August - hotel question
  2. 2 Help with Malaysia itinerary
  3. 3 Vietnam suggestions for November
  4. 4 Trip Report April in Bangkok, again!
  5. 5 Japan - spending money?
  6. 6 Truly a one day suit in Hong Kong?
  7. 7 Japan Itinerary and JR pass questions/China 72-hour Visafree question
  8. 8 Haneda to Narita Layover : Need advice
  9. 9 Headed to Thailand this June/July--Help!!
  10. 10 Trip Report North India trip report with Castle and King tour company
  11. 11 Trip Report Karen and Tom - a romantic Vietnam getaway: ENGAGED!!!
  12. 12 Please help me plan 3.5 weeks in South Korea
  13. 13 7 days in Nepal, any suggestions?
  14. 14 21 days thailand and vietnam
  15. 15 Finally Going To Bali! Please Help With Flight and Alam Shanti Question
  16. 16 Good golf in Indonesia?
  17. 17 Getting down to details and welcome advice: Tokyo
  18. 18 1st Trip to Bali
  19. 19 Phuket or Koh Samui
  20. 20 Japan night bus
  21. 21 Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam - Recommendations on order of Trip!
  22. 22 Help..Want to hire a guide/driver for Golden Triangle
  23. 23 Hire Car In Jaipur
  24. 24 Can you bargain tour price?
  25. 25 3 1/2 week trip to Japan advise please!
View next 25 » Back to the top