Asia Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 12 days in Vietnam Jan/Feb
  2. 2 Thai Elephants
  3. 3 Best location for snorkelling/ beach/ quiet resort/ great Thai food
  4. 4 Japan/Korea/HK
  5. 5 Is it safe to travel Hong Kong in Oct?
  6. 6 Bangkok in 3 days - Weekdays
  7. 7 Cancelling trip to Burma; seeking advice for outskirts of Bangkok
  8. 8 JFK to BKK sale on Qatar
  9. 9 India itinerary critique please
  10. 10 Trip Report Impressions of India
  11. 11 Solo female traveller Mumbai, safe?
  12. 12 New Vietnam eVisa service
  13. 13 sri lanka two places, two hotels
  14. 14 7ish days in Myanmar, advice please (itinerary, ballooning, restaurants)
  15. 15 Trip Report A Memorable Solo Month in Singapore, Java, and Bali
  16. 16 Vientiane and ??
  17. 17 2 weeks in Vietnam
  18. 18 Mumbai short visit
  19. 19 which city should i start from first
  20. 20 Do not miss the variety of Indonesian cultural festivals in 2017
  21. 21 Cultural Festivals of Indonesia
  22. 22 Trip Report Sri Lanka in August
  23. 23 Camel Safar in Rajastan
  24. 24 Looking for Hong Kong (HK) Tourism Guide
  25. 25 Trip Report Hong Kong
View next 25 » Back to the top

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement