Asia Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Kerala- Periyar or Alleppey, which place is more scenic ?
  2. 2 10 Place You Should Visit in Iran
  3. 3 What to do in Halong Bay Vietnam in 2 days
  4. 4 Trip Report HANOI ROCKS -- Our Spring Break Visit to Vietnam
  5. 5 Japanese Alps
  6. 6 Trip Report One month in Java and Bali
  7. 7 Visa Service Referral Needed
  8. 8 Visa Application Form
  9. 9 Kyushu planning (March-April)
  10. 10 Surin Beach - Rubbish Reports?
  11. 11 A couple of Kyoto questions
  12. 12 Inoculations for Vietnam & Camboda
  13. 13 Hotel in Langkawi
  14. 14 Rerouting My Itinerary/April 2016
  15. 15 How to avoid MSG in China?
  16. 16 1 week rental in Kyoto (machiya / apartment)
  17. 17 Itinerary Hong Kong and Japan - 12 full days
  18. 18 Is Dalat worth a visit?
  19. 19 Thailand and ? 4 weeks summer 2016
  20. 20 Trip Report Sweltering, steamy, sizzingly southern India--It was hot!
  21. 21 Kyoto to Tokyo airport - Train or Fly
  22. 22 Kavey April 2016 Japan Itinerary Planning
  23. 23 Last Minute Advice for my First Visit to Japan
  24. 24 Langkawi
  25. 25 Early planning for yet another "second trip" to Japan
View next 25 » Back to the top

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.